A Night With Kiehl’s: Review of The Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Botanical Cleansing Oil and Pure Vitality Skin Renewing Cream

Taking a quick trip up to Cameron Highlands saw the launch of two new remarkable products – a sensorial cleansing oil and balmy face cream.

I was knackered to say the least. Having just gotten off two flights that totalled a whopping 17-hours, I was spent. As was my complexion. So perhaps it is a blessing in disguise that I get back to Kuala Lumpur just in time for the press junket to Cameron Highlands (the night before, in fact) where the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Botanical Cleansing Oil and Kiehl’s Pure Vitality Skin Renewing Cream are being launched.

I’m also going to be very honest and say that this post is extremely overdue. However, it is perhaps another blessing in disguise, for I’ve then been able to experience these two new launches for well over a month.

So let’s get started.

Feeling somewhat like death, I drag myself out of bed to meet the Kiehl’s team and other fellow bloggers to begin our trek up to the hills. Normally I’m a lot more enthusiastic, but this bout of sleep deprivation caused by my arrival from Europe the night before brings to me the revelation that hey, I’m no longer some spring chicken. Worse for wear, hungry and with a complexion duller than an old 20 cent coin, I’m possibly Kiehl’s best human guinea pig.

dsc08518

The Smokehouse Hotel, where the Midnight Recovery Botanical Cleansing Oil and Pure Vitality Skin Renewing Cream are launched (that’s our guide out front in case you’re wondering).

Our first stop for the day is the Smokehouse Hotel for a mini feast. We get to discover the two launches right here, and the rest of the trip was pie. We’ll come to the fun side activities later, but first, these two new discoveries…

In our culture, traditional medicine is nothing new. From Chinese herbs to traditional Malay jamu, time-tested remedies and ingredients have reigned supreme in medicine cupboards and spice racks for generations. So, in a nutshell, the Pure Vitality Skin Renewing Cream is a fusion of age-old medicinal beliefs and modernity and doesn’t give you the faffy promises of anti-ageing, skin brightening and the like. Instead, it promises overall healthy skin, the best that it can be.

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 4.09.45 PM.png

Kiehl’s Pure Vitality Skin Renewing Cream, RM254

Because of its inclusion of New Zealand manuka honey and Korean red ginseng, this day and night moisturiser improves the skin’s resilience to the onslaughts of urban living, while by nourishing it over time, the complexion is renewed and replenished. A natural byproduct of a renewed mien is a radiant face, so that’s a super plus in my books.

Over two months in, personally, I like using this cream during the day. I like knowing that my complexion is protected from city air. Although, I must add that this is a good jar for travelling and is the only time I’ll use it both day and night (so I don’t have to lug two products).

One thing I’ve realised is that a little bit goes a really long way for this product. Especially because even though it’s a cream, it’s really balmy upon application, and you can feel its textural metamorphosis as you gently massage it into the skin. Most importantly of course, is how it fares. Overall, I’m happy with this cream. My skin is smoother, healthier and dare I say even illuminated because of it.

DSC08494.JPG

Very pretty setup at Smokehouse for the Pure Vitality Skin Renewing Cream

Moving on, Kiehl’s other launch is for the Midnight Recovery Botanical Cleansing Oil. This is the third addition to the Midnight Recovery family and I’ve been a fan since it first launched with the face oil back in 2010. While yes, beauty oils have long been used in Ayurveda and plays a staple role in most Asian households (think coconut oil for your hair or to remove makeup. When I was a young teen, my aunt actually taught me to use coconut oil as a sunscreen! Gave me a lovely even, golden tan), this face oil is an industry pioneer among mainstream/commercial beauty brands.

What set the Midnight Recovery Concentrate apart is not just its unique blend of pure botanical oils, but what it stands for as well – that beauty is a pamper pleasure. From its lush but not heavy texture to its heavenly, sleep-inducing scent, this oil is a perfect final step to any night routine. So, why not begin this way too? The Midnight Recovery Botanical Cleansing Oil answers just that question.

MR_Cleansing Oil_175ml_web.jpg

Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Botanical Cleansing Oil, RM150

Smelling of lavender fields and enriched with the same oils found in its predecessor, this cleansing oil leaves the skin velvety soft to the touch after use. With dry skin such as mine, that’s a mean feat, as I’m used to even the most hydrating of cleansers leaving my skin feeling a tad tight.

There are two ways to use this precious cleansing oil, one as a straight up makeup remover, and another as a cleanser. I prefer the latter on a day to day basis, as my face feels clean with no residual oiliness. But for travel, treat this like a two in one – remove stubborn makeup by gently melting it off and then cleanse with a few pumps of product.

Needless to say, it does wonders for my complexion and I love everything about it. Especially how nourishing it is with its mix of Squalane, lavender essential oil and evening primrose oil all so, so rich with essential fatty acids.

Now that you have my honest to goodness review, here’s a peek at what the girls and I got up to at Cameron highlands (click for captions).

Leave a Reply

