A Skincare Line To Call My Own

I suppose you could say that this is the real reason I left ELLE

It’s never easy leaving a job you love. I’m talking about the job I’d wished for since I was 12 years old. The job I chose to obtain a BA in Journalism for. The job I worked a decade of countless long nights and weekends for. The job which doesn’t necessarily pay very well, but gives me a sense of fulfilment no amount of money can quantify.

Suffice to say, bursting my editorial bubble and walking away from my dream job as the Beauty Editor for an international glossy was hard as hell. I’d done it the first time in 2011 when I left Harper’s BAZAAR, so you’d think things get easier the second time around, but no. Deciding to leave ELLE nearly a year ago wasn’t any easier. Not even infinitesimally.

But I’d decided (with the heaviest of hearts) that it’s time to chase another dream. I want to start my own skincare line. Having 10 years of experience in the beauty industry has made me a skincare junkie, so this is a natural progression, really. Luckily for me I now have a full-time role at GetLulu that offers me the chance to go for it. And it looks like those dreams are finally turning into a reality.

Over the past year, I’ve slowly worked with a biotech engineering lab, taking the time to come up with a really kick ass serum that not just seamlessly fits into any existing skincare routine, but just really works.

Unfortunately, I can’t divulge all the details just yet, but what I can tell you is this: the nano tech in the serum is now patented, the formula is preservative-free, it’s halal, has surpassed expectations in all clinical trials so far, and every ingredient used in it is certified GRAS (generally regarded as safe). Think of it as bringing the best of what both science and nature have to offer.

The serum in its entirety is not quite there yet, but I can pretty much see the finish line in the distance. Just a few more tweaks and finishing touches to go before I feel it’s ready to hit the shelves. For now, I’m also working on the most exciting part – packaging! (Photos below).

It’s a risky dream, this one. With so much riding on it. But the little 12-year-old in me is pushing me, prodding me to do what she would have done. Throw caution to the wind and just chase whatever dream it is I have anyway. Wish me luck!

FullSizeRender 4.jpg

So many bottle options! 

FullSizeRender 3.jpg

Shortlisting these beauties. Anyone want to try guess which one we picked in the end?

IMG_0314.JPG

There are even trolleys full of various options for bottle caps

IMG_0319.JPG

Hameediyah probably isn’t the most obvious place to be going through sticker and box options, but here we are!

Leave a Reply

