Image: Clinique

REVIEW: Clinique Pop Liquid Matte Lip Colour + Primer

Pucker up with this new collection of candy shades, available in two finishes

I’ll be honest. It’s been ages since I outgrew lipgloss and moved on to lipstick. Somehow, I just much prefer the impact that these tiny little bullets of pigment have in them. I also almost always steer clear of any lip product with a matte finish. Until I tried the new Clinique Pop Liquid Matte Lip Colour + Primer, that is!

A few Fridays ago, I went to the launch of Clinique’s Pop Matte collection. There, they launched two new products within the range – the Matte Lip Colour + Primer (a lipstick) and Liquid Lip Colour + Primer (a liquid lip colour).

As most beauty events would, there were touch-up stations where I got to meet one of the brands in-house makeup artists, Hafiz. I’m a sucker for pink lip colour, especially those with a blue base, and Hafiz picked out one of the prettiest shades of orchid pink I’ve ever set eyes on. But as I’ve said, I’m usually very hesitant to try anything with a matte finish as my lips tend to be dry.

So, the magical colour I got to try is the Clinique Pop Liquid Matte Lip Colour + Primer in 05 Sweetheart Pop.  I let Hafiz do this thing, first prepping my pout with a tiny dollop of concealer to really allow the colour to *ahem* pop. Then, starting in the middle, he used the pointed tip of the lip colour’s wand to fill in my cupid’s bow before filling the rest of my lip in with colour.

LowRes_IMG_1428.JPG

Getting some pointers from Hafiz, a Clinique makeup artist

For those unaware, the key difference between a lip colour and a lipgloss is opacity. Lipglosses are sheer and shiny, while a lip colour is pretty much a lipstick in liquid form, hence its high concentration of pigment.

Once the colour settled, I must say that while the colour dried, it didn’t dry my lips along with it. And since the formula comes with a primer formulated in it, it’s moisturising on the lips, thanks to a blend of pampering oils and antioxidants including vitamin E, avocado oil and sunflower oil.

Luckily for us, we got an awesome door gift that included this colour I now love so much. and even when applying it at home sans the aid of a makeup guru, I still got the same intense coverage and non-streaky matte finish. My verdict: a total win! Especially at only RM83 a pop for both the liquid and lipstick variants.

IMG_0298.JPG

The generous doorgift at the party included blushes to match

lowres_img_1424

Dimple and I when we first arrived (before getting our lips done as you can see)

lowres_img_1440

Old friend and peer Jesse Ong

lowres_img_1465

With my gif partner-in-crime Audra Roslani

 

Images: Courtesy of Clinique

Leave a Reply

