Image: Chris Tan

Strike or Stride? A Community Class with adidas

I got to check out the new Firestation gym at Plaza Mont Kiara thanks to adidas, and it was awesome!

Even though yoga makes up a core part of my workout routine, every now and then I feel the need to change things up. And I’m always open to the idea of trying new things. So when the bestie at adidas invited me to another one of their community class last weekend, I couldn’t pass up the chance to check out the new Firestation Gym at Plaza Mont Kiara.

We were given the option to try either a Stride or Strike class, and I opted for the latter since my SO trains me in boxing every now and then (I figured I’d have an easier time, lazy me!). In a nutshell, the Strike class with Tracy Minnoch was hella fun with its ‘Fight Club meets nightclub’ theme.

The view from the Strike room's elevated DJ console

The view from the Strike room’s elevated DJ console

Working out to music isn’t something I’m used to as an Ashtanga Mysore practitioner, but you can definitely use the beat and rhythm to your advantage when in a Strike class. And something else that surprisingly packed more *ahem* punch to each blow of the boxing bag was a shout.

About halfway through the class, which consists of five five-minute circuits, Tracy let out the rallying cry, “I can’t hear you ladies!” When I’d initially heard the rest of the ladies respond by shouting while landing each blow to their punching bags, I was hesitant to do the same. Let’s blame shyness for that. But truth be told I was beginning to tire so decided to just give it ago, and I’m glad I did. Lights down and music up, shouting turned into a victory cry and maxed up the power in each of my punches. Now I’m sold on the idea. I doubt I’d do that again the next time I train with the SO, though. Again, purely out of shyness.

The 45-minute session with Tracy culminated in a mild stretch to cool the body down. Naturally, some of the girls and I spent a bit of time upside down too once the event was over. Scroll through for more.

Group shot post Strike and Stride

Group shot post Strike and Stride

All Strike students get their hands wrapped before the gloves come on

All Strike students get their hands wrapped before the gloves come on

Splits with my girls Nor Soraya and Evie Wong

Splits with my girls Nor Soraya and Evie Wong

Not the most flattering photo, but this is my game face

Not the most flattering photo, but this is my game face

Hollowback girls (L-R): Nor Soraya, me, Evie Wong, Pamela Chong

Hollowback girls (L-R): Nor Soraya, me, Evie Wong, Pamela Chong

 

Images: Chris Tan for adidas

2 thoughts on “Strike or Stride? A Community Class with adidas

Leave a Reply

